Opinions on the subject of <span class="highlight">tyre</span> <span class="highlight">pressures</span> link

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:06
ThreadID: 42442 Views:3760 Replies:13 FollowUps:25
We talk of tyre pressures from time to time and the type of tyres and rims is never prescripted but a mate of Des Lexic sent me this link to the Pink Roadhouse www.pinkroadhouse.com.au/ but go to the Maps page at the bottom at left, then look for the link to the Tyre Pressure Guide (pdf 267k) yes a PDF scan with hand drawn pictorials. I know that can be interesting but it follows a lot of experence in servicing tyres along the Oodnadatta Track. I am sure Adam Plate won't mind you peeking in. I do note his comment on split rims that Willem may not appreciate.

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:43

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:43
John Hi

I've never met Adam, but they say he's a hard man.

we run splits for the last 4 years now, and the only thing to let as down are the tubes..lol

when we had the Prado with wide 16" we ran 28-30 psi all round no props..
with the troopy 16" splits we drop 10-15 psi all round for the dirt OK

I don't know about the springs and air bags increasing tyre damage???

will have to think about that

AnswerID: 222432

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:45

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:45
Hi Richard,

"I've never met Adam, but they say he's a hard man." I don't know, I just take people as I see them but I know some may say the same of you, or me for that matter at some stages of my life. I have never met Adam either. I thought he has a lot of access to a lot of people's rigs and tyres up the Track so the link is worth posting. It's his business of gathering that close information.

You illuminate the different treatment for different tyre systems - wide rims versus splits, but the weights are always a concern with the suspension systems you mention springs/airbags to boot. Put all that against the speeds, we want to drive, the condition of the road and the shocks that we expect out vehicles to absorb and assets we want to preserve. I guess we have all heard about Nissan/Toyota suspensions wrecked, Jayco caravans too beside the road and the like.

I guess as I expect to look to tyres as a first contact point with the road and I carry spares I look to see what I am wanting to succeed at travelling. Risk versus reward. What am I prepared to put the risk on? Not with a space saver spare anyway. Have had enough of that a few years back.
FollowupID: 483294

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 13:35

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 13:35
Boy I wasn't having a go at the man,, we headed he's advise and many other before we traveled the region, but I still fine it had to get "I don't know about the springs and air bags increasing tyre damage???"

He mention springs/airbags in the fl yer..(BIG 4WD 15") I just said.. who cares..

FollowupID: 483303

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:22

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:22
I'm beginning to think I'm a bit wierd :) I met Adam and he was very nice. Of course on that occasion he wanted something from me instead of the other way around. Hi wife was a nice person too.
Naturally his tyre advice is based on his experiences in that area. Horses for courses.
FollowupID: 483506

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:02

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:02
All right stop now

don't try reading things into a comment..

FollowupID: 483591

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:03

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:03
I wasn't. That comment has been passed before by a few people here. I was simply saying that's not what I found. However it was some time ago when he was just trying to get Oodna on the tourist map. I think I'd be a bit short also if I had to deal with some of our less than thoughtful cousins. Come to think of it, I'm already a bit short with some :))
FollowupID: 483616

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:57

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:57
Hey Bro,

Yeah, I had trouble with the download but saw the first bit.

Well thats his opinion. But in which context?

You have to remember too that I have gone back to split rims for specialised treks and not your run of the mill touring stuff.

AnswerID: 222434

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:48

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:48
Willem, you are right. The context is his experience up The Track for touring. If you want go exploring you use camels out there ;-) Perhaps we aught to look at the camel benefits next.
FollowupID: 483295

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:33

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:33
Yes, Willem's next back to the future will be camels, but he is getting his butt in shape first.
FollowupID: 483509

Reply By: jdpatrol - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:15

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:15
This reflects a lot of what people advocate at our 4wd club (in SA). A friend had a couple of flats in the Kimberly and a local tyre repair bloke there said 'you southerners are always running tyre pressures that are too low', so its probably good it says Oodnadatta track.

I cant get comfortable with the statement side wall damage does not increase at lower pressures but he's seen more than me.

"his comment on split rims that Willem may not appreciate" - I see he does welcome comment. FAir bit of goodwill in putting this on the net so give him credit. Come to think of it he is taking a risk not having a disclaimer.

Worthwhile post thanks. JD
AnswerID: 222439

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:51

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:51
JD, yes a copyright protection and no disclaimer. He does suggest we seek other advice but he like we do provide experiences. Perhaps I should have a short legal disclaimer as my signature.
FollowupID: 483296

Follow Up By: jdpatrol - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 13:22

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 13:22
discussion forum surely has no risk unless your slandering someone or something like that.......but then again?
FollowupID: 483302

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 16:51

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 16:51
Folks,

I have met Adam personally and my impression of him is that he is very knowledgeable and quite interesting, but doesn't suffer fools gladly.

Adam has been at Oodnadatta for something like 30 years and before that, had a Truckies background I believe.

With his vast experience, I would imagine he has only one view and that is his own and under the circumstances where he lives and works, I see nothing wrong with that.

Some people may find him abrupt at times, especially when they are experiencing difficulty with a breakdown and expect instant and total support from him with their own predicament, perhaps to the exclusion of all else. Well, it doesn't work that way "out there" and people need to be more patient with the time he is able to give to their problem. I believe his heart is in the right place though.

Adam is the Town Mayor, amongst other things and he gave us the keys to the local museum he is largely responsible for setting up. Terrific history on the whole area, especially that of Anna Creek Station, once the largest cattle station in the world and the historic but now redirected, Ghan Railway.

Only spent a half hour with him when he sat at our table over lunch, but a very interesting character just the same.

AnswerID: 222480

Reply By: mfewster - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:26

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:26
One of the people with experience to equal Adams is Jol Fleming. Jol's website is a wealth of ouback 4WD info. Check his thoughts on split rims and tyre pressures. (They pretty well line up with Adam's) however Jol gives a lot more detail.
While you are at it, explore the site read a bit more about Jol's life and 4WD experience. An incredible character, also well worth meeting if you are up Alice way.
www.direct4wd.com.au/default.htm

Jol is also going tp put an explanation on his page about how to use petrol safely to reseat your tubeless tyre.
AnswerID: 222499

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:34

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:34
For TRUE OFF-ROAD work in desert conditions split rims and cross ply tyres are still the best by a long, long way.

Ask people who earn their living driving off-road ie; going through the bush from point a to point b.

If you stick to formed tracks and gravel roads (like that bloke probably would), tubeless radials are probably fine.
AnswerID: 222541

Reply By: T-Ribby - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:26

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:26
As far as dirt roads go, how would the Oodnatta compare with say the Birdsville Developmental Road?. ( I haven't travelled on either yet ).

Terry R.
AnswerID: 222557

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:28

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:28
Correction: Oodnadatta

T.R.
FollowupID: 483380

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 00:03

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 00:03
The Oodnadatta Track is a good road when freshly graded, but like all dirt roads, weather conditions and vehicular traffic can change even the best in a few hours.
I can't comment on the Birdsville Developmental Road as I haven't been on it.

Generally though, these roads and also other main ones like the Strzelecki and Birdsville Tracks are usually maintained in pretty good condition during the dry.

When it rains, all bets are off. Have travelled the Birdsville Track where a couple of hours of overnight rain had turned a 50 kilometre section just north of Mungerannie into a skating rink. Johnno at the Mungerannie Hotel advised us to bugger off first thing in the morning if we hoped to reach Birdsville as more rain was predicted in the area. That slippery section was very interesting to drive on to say the least. I was down to around 15 kph with the Jack sliding towards the left hand verge and the trailer wanting to head the other way. I was actually amazed on hitting the road verge that the vehicle was gently kicked out onto the road again, rather than becoming bogged down.
I have occasionally seen rut marks all over the place on a perfectly dry track and now I know how they come to be. A different driving experience altogether, but if crap were to happen, you just set up camp on the side of the track until it dries out a bit.

Always seek and heed the advice of locals when travelling in unfamiliar countryside, especially in dodgy weather conditions. This is also where the UHF set is very handy indeed, to get advice on road conditions ahead from people travelling towards you and of course you advising them of what you have just sampled.

Mate, I just love the experience.

FollowupID: 483413

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 09:23

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 09:23
Sounds interesting !. Even more tricky with a trailer. I'm well familiar with wet tracks and always carried mud chains in my old landy. I can't seem to find out anything about the state of the road into Birdsville from the east on the Developmental. I'm assuming until told otherwise that it's a reasonably quick well maintained dirt road. I have a 5w UHF-CB.
Thanks for the advice.
T.R.
FollowupID: 483450

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:47

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:47
Birdsville Development Road is in better condition overall - it is certainly structurally more substantial, strong base of gravel although fairly large size and sharp in places and even a few bitumen areas over moving sand dunes as I recall. There are still some pot holed areas when I was there last (October) so keep your wits about you.

The OT and Birdsville Track vary a lot more and will need a lot more work after the recent rain one would suppose - as to how much work is done, I'm unsure, but as always local current knowledge is second to none.
FollowupID: 483511

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:35

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:35
Thanks for that additional info Andrew - appreciated. Will be towing a light off-road camper-trailer on the BDR so I'll air down to my unsealed road tyre pressures and travel quietly.
Terry. R.
FollowupID: 483517

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:08

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:08
Hi John

Wasn't impressed with some of that advice at all.

Because of the sketch format its not the easiset to read
but near his copyright name he states that this advice
is for high load , high speed cruising and _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx diagram
at top RHS of typical big wagon showing tyres pressures
of 20-24 at front and 26-30 at rear.

So assuming high speed means up to speed limit (100) we
have loaded Patrol wagon at 100 with 20psi in front tyres.

Nuts - I believe that is likely to cause more tyre failure
from overheat.

Generally speaking I agree with lower pressures but only
in conjunction with reduced speeds.

I wouldn't drive at over 80 with such advice.

AnswerID: 222627

Follow Up By: mfewster - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 12:35

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 12:35
Couldn't agree more. Lowered pressures should not be used at Highway speeds. Almost guarantee a blow out. Lower pressures are the way to go off road, but at reduced speeds. Reducing speed off road is the best tyre protection you can get. More important than all the debate on tyre brands. Car ads. showing vehicles blasting along off road have a lot to answer for.
FollowupID: 483498

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:02

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:02
Robin, very few people would drive up the Oodnadatta Track at over 80kph anyway so you agree I presume? That is where his reccomendations are for as it says at the top.....
TYRE PRESSURES - DIRT ROADS PSI
inc OODNADATTA TRACK .........and onwards
FollowupID: 483615

Follow Up By: Robin - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:35

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:35
Not a chance I could condone his reccomendations John.

First he doesn't say Oodnadatta track - he says "Tyre Pressures Dirt roads"
and on next line "Inc oodnadatta track"

Second the speed limit on that is mostly 100k.

To cap it off he then says in the box below that they are for "high load , high speed driving".

I have disagreed based on the speed limit whereas many would construe "high speed" as meaning over it.

So his meaning is very clear.

I would suggest that many people drive at the speed limit and some more along that track unless its just after bad weather etc.

I was passed many times last year by cars going over 100k on various dirt roads in area.

In fact if you want a shocker - throw a few track plots into ozi-explorer and do a track profile on them.

-----------------------------------------
My comments above refers to the actual PDF sheet , but lets move onwards to another page you may not have seen.

From the main page near the top is a big heading "INFO" click on that and look down.

The following completely unqualified words appear in a box -

"Travellers tips - Always run your tyres 10 lbs less for dirt roads than you have for bitumem"

So with a patrol plackarded at 29 psi front this gives you 19 psi on dirt roads without a speed qualification.

I repeat "Nuts" and I can assure you that its technically unsound and potentially dangerous.

Frankly I have trouble believing this advice and would like to see his justification for it.

FollowupID: 483680

Reply By: steve&anja - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:41

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:41
Hi Ive just joined the forum days ago and hope this helps.
I conservatively do 25 to 30 thousand km on corrugated dirt roads across the top end every year for the last 13 years, I would never consider lowering my tyre pressure below 40 psi front 42 psi rear loaded or unloaded .
In the last 6 years I have owned an 80 series, troopys,and at the moment I am run a 78 troopy,2 100 series and about to get another 100 series, I have Australian made Bridgestone A/T duellers 265 65 16 on all cars with tyre pressure of 40 psi front 42 psi rear, In the 6 year Ive used these tyres and pressures there have been no problems and I get approx 55,000 km per set. I will not be changing tyre brand or pressure any time soon.
ps I looked at that pdf file seriously scary info.
AnswerID: 222710

Follow Up By: mfewster - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:46

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:46
Out of curiosity Steve, at what speed do you travel on corrugated roads? If you belong to the school of thought that advocates taking corrugations at reasonably high speed (say 80kmh or more) and sort of trying to get a speed where the ruts feel as though they have cancelled out, then I can understand why you might pump them up higher. I think the speed you choose to drive is a factor in the pressures you set. Did you read the Jol Fleming article? Any comments on his point of view re tyre pressures?
FollowupID: 483557

Follow Up By: steve&anja - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:32

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:32
you're right about the speed, I average between 80 and 90 km/h on these roads.
However, my vehicles have heavy duty suspension and I believe, that all three factors (suspension, tyre pressures and tyres) together make all the difference.
Please note: I'm not an expert but this is decades of experience on dirt roads.

No, I haven't read the article you mentioned, would appreciate, if you could post me a link (as I mentioned, I'm only new to the forum, still finding my way around), as I'm open to other people's opinions -- based on facts.
FollowupID: 483567

Follow Up By: mfewster - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:25

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:25
G'day Steve
Try
www.direct4wd.com.au/default.htm
As I said, I'd be interested in your comments. You will need to go through the various links to find the articles about tyres and tyre pressures. I find Willem's comments pretty compelling and think his point about low pressures on formed roads versus crossplies on completely unmade stuff makes sense.
FollowupID: 483576

Follow Up By: RedGibber - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:55

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:55
Hi Steve,

There seems to be 2 schools of thought on tyre pressures off-road, and I am of the "higher is better" school - and that's with the modern tubeless 265 width rubber. I spent many years in the Gasgoyne and Pilbara regions of WA, starting off in the mid 70s with a G60 Patrol driving red gibber, sharp ironstone and limestone outcrop conditions. Friends and aquaintances who had spent many years before me in the region advocated keeping the pressures as high as possible to reduce tyre failure. I followed their advice over the years, and have had one tyre failure in 35 years of gravel/outback travel.

I now have a GU TD42T Patrol and still adhere to the "high pressure" strategy, despite or regardless of current tyre technology.

To summarise...I'm with you!!

Red
FollowupID: 483588

Reply By: steve&anja - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:48

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:48
Hi mfemster
I had a look at the article and my impression was this guy spends all his time driving on soft terrain eg desert country and yes those tyre pressure's would seem to work.
I just wouldn't see these tyre pressure's working on say the Gibb river road or perhaps the road between Bulman and Gove for instance, As I say Im no expert but my accountant seems to think I don't spend much on tyres.
Food for thought I tow a 800 kg camp trailer on all extended tour and my resent holiday 1/2 way around Oz , Ive noticed on this forum and on fraser island that it is preference to lower tyre pressure when towing on sand or desert. On holidays i went to fraser and finke river track, Now on fraser I lowered my car tyres to as it turned out 36 psi and left trailer tyres at 40 psi (trailer tyres and spare same as car )never got stuck in fact had a ball my theory being ever tried to push or pull a fridge on a trolley with flat tyres. However I have lowered my trailer tyres to 35 on corrugated dirt roads to help trailer suspension only on long hauls. I have also made sure the wheel base on the trailer is the same as the car.
Any thoughts on this one .
AnswerID: 222778

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:11

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:11
steve&anja, I reckon people that cross the Simpson and travelled Fraser will think you were lucky to get away with such high pressures. Great for bogging in sand that is dry. Read the piece across the top, TYRE PRESSURES FOR DIRT ROADS inc OODNADATTA TRACK
FollowupID: 483619

Follow Up By: mfewster - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:06

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:06
Steve. My thoughts. To be read in conjunction with tyre photos showing tyre footprints at different pressures at Site Link
When tyre pressure is dropped, it is the length of the footprint that is increased rather than the width. This lowers the pressure at any one point by a large factor. Think of it like the Indian fakir who does the old lying on a bed of nails trick. If he lies on one upturned pointed nail, the pressure of his weight easily forces the nail to penetrate him. Now make the bed of lots of upturned nails so the weight is spread over a much greater area. He can lie on it without them penetrating. Same weight, but much less pressure at a particular point.
Apply that to tyres. The bigger the footprint for the same weight, the less pressure generated by a sharp stake/stone. Sharpness is just a matter of pressure. The sharper the object, the smaller the contact point, so it creates more penetrating force for a given weight.
Crossply tyres "bag" lengthways better than radials, so they give a longer footprint and less pressure at any given point for a given tyre pressure. I think this may be as much a factor in their better off road performance as their thicker walls.
To sum up, in my opinion. Lower pressures protect tyres better off road on stony or sand or stake conditions. BUT the lower the pressure, the lower the speed you need to travel. In my 60 series Toyo, very heavily laden, heavy duty suspension, radial tyres, that would translate into something like 24lb front tyres and 26 rear travelling at 60kmh (less on some sections and depending on current state of rd) on the Gibb River rd. If going over the Simpson, I would be 2lb a tyre less.
FollowupID: 483687

Reply By: steve&anja - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:18

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:18
Just a quick one I drove my first Landcruiser in 1976 at 12 Im now 42 ( Luck or Experiance)
Have a nice day
AnswerID: 222796

Follow Up By: mfewster - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 12:58

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 12:58
Ok. I am in mid 60's and have driven everything I could get my hands on since mid teens. I know for sure that surviving (at least) the first of those 10 years was definitely luck.
FollowupID: 483731

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 16:59

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 16:59
Hi Steve, welcome to ExplorOz, you will find many opinions around here and a wide range of experience.

I drove my first Landcruiser in 1969 (a 3 speed that used to get stuck in reverse) at the age of 7 and you don't need to be Einstein to figure I'm a bit older than that now.

Personally I don't think there is anything wrong with either pressure strategy, particularly if tyres are new. If you do high K's the tyres will probably go through less heat cycles over their life and be less likely to give problems. If anyone asks me my opinion on the best way to avoid punctures I tell them to get new tyres, period. If the tyres are older my preference is for lower pressures.

I run my BFG AT's at 25F and 30R, loaded. I like the more comfortable ride and rarely see 90KPH.

Regds

OT
FollowupID: 483770

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:04

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:04
Just had a better look around the Pink Roadhouse site and some of those mud-maps are GOLD!. Good local homespun info like this is great to have and it's great that they have been produced and reproduced.

As for the Tyre Pressure Guide; it should be seen for what it is, a back of the envelope effort containing a condensed version of approximate, locally relative information based on probably years on experience on one road in particular (although there are many like it).

I reckon the copyright symbol at the bottom was probably inserted as a joke. It's a wonder no one had a crack at him for misspelling tyre at the top and writing over it in a thicker pen. You should not go looking for a glossary of terms to define what "high speed" is on that track or others like it. If the bloke was a Rhodes Scholar he would probably be doing something else he liked. I would not go quoting legal speed limits either, it's a waste of time. Better to ask "When did the grader go through?" They probably assume around there that anyone going over 90KPH loaded up on a track like that will not last long in the gene pool anyway, no matter what they are told. If you are going much more than that, it won't be tyre failure you need to worry about it's actually having enough grip to stay on the road, particularly of you have high pressures and less footprint on the deck.

Although I only have experience with a couple of the combo's he has there I reckon it's absolutely spot on. The side comments like equalising the footprint and always driving in 4WD are good too.

If something of this nature had been given to those German tourists who perished at Lake Eyre near William Creek when they got bogged then they would probably still be alive today. (The one where where the Police locked the hugs, lowered the pressures and drove the Troopy out).

Documents like this show that plaintiff lawyers have not yet got to Oodnadatta; and thank God for that!

Just my 2 bits.

OT
AnswerID: 222950

Reply By: steve&anja - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:55

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:55
Hi mfewsre
I just noticed your response to my post on how long Ive been driving for and I think I offended you.Sorry if I did but that post was a tongue in cheek response to JohnR post above yours with on offence intended to any one.
Now a business associate of mine visited yesterday( and he has more experience then I) and I showed him these links and posts and he agrees with me on the high pressure, He runs Coopers on a gxl and he did the gibb river road 6 times last year on the same set towing an 800 kg trailer he said he averaged 85-90 kph and he run 42 psi all round he said though that in soft country long term he may adopt the lower pressure but he said no lower than 36.
cheers.
AnswerID: 223174